Jason Johnson Goes Flag to Flag at Red River Valley

Jason Johnson Goes Flag-to-Flag at Red River Valley

Secures 3rd win of 2017 season

WEST FARGO, ND – August 19, 2017 – Jason Johnson started on the outside of the front row, took command down the backstretch on the opening circuit and never looked back to score his third win of the season Saturday at Red River Valley Speedway. Johnson survived heavy traffic and multiple restarts to pick up the popular victory. Australian Kerry Madsen and Shane Stewart completed the podium. 

Johnson got the jump on pole-sitter Kraig Kinser and established a healthy advantage before a caution for a slowing Jamie Veal on lap four. On the ensuing restart, Dominic Scelzi and Brent Marks took a wild ride on the front stretch. Both drivers were uninjured in the accident.

Shane Stewart got underneath Kraig Kinser for second and began chasing down Johnson as lapped traffic intensified. Kerry Madsen began his charge on the bottom of the racing surface as he surged by both Kinser and Thomas Kennedy to move into third.

Johnson battled with the slower car of David Gravel, allowing Stewart and Madsen to close in. Once Johnson cleared Gravel, he re-extended his lead and drove away from the field for the victory.

“My guys never give up. During the ‘Month of Money’, the tracks got a little slick and we struggled a bit. But this is my type of race track. Cowboy up,” an elated Johnson said upon climbing out of his Priority Aviation, Mesilla Valley Transportation backed No. 41.

“With the World of Outlaws, these guys are so tough night in and night out, to win one of these races speaks magnitudes about this team,” Johnson reiterated.

Kerry Madsen praised his team once again after landing on the podium for the second consecutive night. “It was a fun race, bouncing around and driving hard,” the hard-nosed Australian said.

Shane Stewart, who is now the new track record holder at the Red River Valley Speedway, came home third after grappling with pesky lapped traffic. “Quick time, which I’m usually not, a new track record, which is cool, and a podium finish. We’ll just carry this on to tomorrow and hopefully keep the momentum going,” the Bixby, OK native said following his strong, consistent evening. 

Kinser and Donny Schatz completed the top five. Tim Kaeding was the KSE Hard Charger. Clyde Knipp scored his first career top-ten with the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series with a 9th place finish.

Sunday night the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series concludes a three-race swing through North Dakota in Minot at the Nodak Speedway. For more information on Sunday’s event click here.  


Feature (30 Laps) 1. 41-Jason Johnson [2][$10,000]; 2. 2M-Kerry Madsen [6][$5,500]; 3. 2-Shane Stewart [3][$3,200]; 4. 11K-Kraig Kinser [1][$2,800]; 5. 15-Donny Schatz [7][$2,500]; 6. 17-Jac Haudenschild [8][$2,300]; 7. 21K-Thomas Kennedy [4][$2,200]; 8. 49-Brad Sweet [5][$2,100]; 9. 13-Clyde Knipp [12][$2,050]; 10. 93-Sheldon Haudenschild [10][$2,000]; 11. 9-Daryn Pittman [14][$1,500]; 12. 7S-Jason Sides [9][$1,200]; 13. 1S-Logan Schuchart [16][$1,100]; 14. 3-Tim Kaeding [22][$1,050]; 15. 18-Ian Madsen [13][$1,000]; 16. 5-David Gravel [21][$900]; 17. 24-Terry McCarl [15][$800]; 18. 4-Paul McMahan [19][$800]; 19. 35-Jamie Veal [18][$800]; 20. 7T-Trent Stengl [24][$800]; 21. 13JT-Mark Dobmeier [17][$800]; 22. 41S-Dominic Scelzi [11][$800]; 23. 19-Brent Marks [20][$800]; 24. 1A-Jacob Allen [23][$800];Lap Leaders: Jason Johnson 1-30;KSE Hard Charger Award: 3-Tim Kaeding[+8]

Qualifying 1. 2-Shane Stewart, 11.925; 2. 41S-Dominic Scelzi, 12.043; 3. 41-Jason Johnson, 12.079; 4. 11K-Kraig Kinser, 12.114; 5. 21K-Thomas Kennedy, 12.116; 6. 49-Brad Sweet, 12.148; 7. 18-Ian Madsen, 12.195; 8. 9-Daryn Pittman, 12.208; 9. 7S-Jason Sides, 12.221; 10. 15-Donny Schatz, 12.233; 11. 17-Jac Haudenschild, 12.25; 12. 13-Clyde Knipp, 12.26; 13. 93-Sheldon Haudenschild, 12.277; 14. 13JT-Mark Dobmeier, 12.338; 15. 24-Terry McCarl, 12.339; 16. 1S-Logan Schuchart, 12.342; 17. 2M-Kerry Madsen, 12.405; 18. 35-Jamie Veal, 12.431; 19. 4-Paul McMahan, 12.432; 20. 5-David Gravel, 12.439; 21. 3-Tim Kaeding, 12.493; 22. 19-Brent Marks, 12.52; 23. 1A-Jacob Allen, 12.632; 24. 8-Casey Mack, 12.688; 25. 7T-Trent Stengl, 12.694; 26. 6N-Greg Nikitenko, 12.73; 27. 82-Dusty Zomer, 12.857; 28. W20-Greg Wilson, 12.866; 29. 13X-Ty Hanten, 13.4; 30. 91M-Jackson Moffett, 13.414; 31. 17M-Todd Mickelson, 15.218

For Full Results from Red River Valley Speedway click here

Related Posts

Which Schedule Would You like to Add to Your Calendar