Close this search box.

World of Outlaws Set to Invade Perris Auto Speedway for SoCal Showdown


PERRIS, Calif. – The World of Outlaws NOS® Energy Drink Sprint Car Series will return Saturday, March 30, to Perris Auto Speedway, capping off the Series’ California swing throughout March.

Series stars put on a spectacular show the last time they raced on the half-mile track in 2017, demonstrating to fans why the World of Outlaws is The Greatest Show on Dirt.

David Gravel stole the lead on the first lap and never relinquished it throughout the 30-lap Feature. Grass Valley, Calif., native Brad Sweet closed a two-second gap between himself and Gravel toward the end of the race, but had a battle of his own with Sheldon Haudenschild for second place.

While Gravel pulled away with the lead, Sweet and Haudenschild traded slide jobs, lap after lap, with Sweet eventually finishing ahead.

Sweet and Gravel are sure to put on another thrilling show, with both having solid starts to the 2019 season. Sweet currently sits third in points, after two second-place finishes in a row on California tracks, and Gravel sits seventh with three top-10s.

Gravel is in a new ride this year — the #41 for Jason Johnson Racing — and will be hungry to claim his first win with the team.

They have to compete with Series champions Daryn Pittman and Donny Schatz, who have dominated so far this season. Pittman won the two season-opening races at Volusia Speedway Park in February, and the two put on an epic showcase of racing at The Dirt Track at Las Vegas, racing to the checkered flag side-by-side at the finish with Schatz the victor.

Pittman has been hooked up in his new Roth Motorsport ride this year, so far having led the most laps, won the most Features and is leading the points standings — by just four points over Schatz. He’s also a three-time winner at Perris Auto Speedway.

But Schatz is also starting to find his stride, working with new crew chief Steve Swenson. After his win in Las Vegas, Schatz said he and his Tony Stewart Racing team have gotten his car back to a feel he likes, which may add another level of difficulty to Pittman’s quest for his second championship.

Don’t miss a second of the action at Perris Auto Speedway, get your tickets by going to or call 844-DIRT-TIX. If you can’t make it to the track, be sure to watch the race LIVE on

Following the Series’ visit to Perris Auto Speedway, The Greatest Show on Dirt will make its next stop Saturday April 5 at USA Raceway in Tucson, Ariz. for the Wildcat Shootout.

Previous Feature winners:
2017 – David Gravel on April 1
2016 – Daryn Pittman on April 16
2015 – Paul McMahan on April 18
2014 – Joey Saldana on April 12
2013 – Daryn Pittman on April 13
2012 – Joey Saldana on March 10
2007 – Kerry Madsen on Oct. 20
2004 – Jason Meyers on Feb. 28
2003 – Danny Lasoski on Feb. 23
2002 – Daryn Pittman on Feb. 23
2000 – Danny Lasoski on Feb. 26
1999 – Johnny Herrera on Feb. 20, Craig Dollansky on Oct. 30
1998 – Mark Kinser on Oct. 31, Mark Kinser on Oct. 31
1997 – Mark Kinser on Feb. 15, Mark Kinser on Oct. 26
1996 – Mark Kinser on Nov. 1

Which Schedule Would You like to Print?


Which Schedule Would You like to Add to Your Calendar