Outlaws return to Ocean Speedway for Ocean Outlaw Showdown

Shark Racing's Logan Shuchart and Jacob Allen start 1-2, World of Outlaws main event, April 1, Watsonville, CA.
Shark Racing's Logan Shuchart and Jacob Allen start 1-2, World of Outlaws main event, April 1, Watsonville, CA.

CONCORD, NC – The World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series on Friday March 22 will return to Ocean Speedway in Watsonville, CA for the first time since 2016.

Series stars put on a spectacular show the last time they raced on the quarter-mile oval, demonstrating to fans why the World of Outlaws is The Greatest Show on Dirt.

Grass Valley, CA native Brad Sweet rocketed pass Logan Schuchart for the win with just 13 laps to go at the 2016 race. Sweet, who was last season’s runner-up in points, is poised to be a threat at the track again this year.

He is coming off two top-five finishes at the two season opening races in Florida, leaving him tied for third in points with 10-time Series Champion Donny Schatz. However, NASCAR star Christopher Bell, who sits second in points, is only running a handful of Sprint Car races this year.

Leading everybody is Daryn Pittman, the 2019 DIRTcar Nationals champion who has been hooked up in his new Roth Motorsports ride. Pittman started the year by winning the two season-opening races, but he’s never won an Outlaws race at Ocean Speedway and will no doubt be amped up to repeat his early success for California car owners Dennis and Teresa Roth.

Like Pittman, Schatz has never won a Series race at Ocean Speedway but had a strong run the last race there in 2016, charging from 18th to sixth. He’s also starting off the season strong with two top-five finishes – one a podium finish.

Carson Macedo, a native of Lemoore, CA, is looking for his first World of Outlaws victory since winning at Silver Dollar Speedway in 2014. Macedo joins forces with Kyle Larson Racing this season to make a run at the Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year title. Macedo has had an impressive start to the season with two top-10 finishes and two Heat wins.

Don’t miss a second of the action at Ocean Speedway, get your tickets by going to WorldofOutlaws.com/tix, or call 844-DIRT-TIX. If you can’t make it to the track, be sure to watch the race LIVE on DIRTVISION.com.

Following the Series’ visit to Ocean Speedway, The Greatest Show on Dirt will make its next stop Saturday March 23 at Placerville Speedway in Placerville, CA.

Previous Feature winners:
2016 – Brad Sweet on April 1
2008 – Steve Kinser on October 17
2002 – Brad Furr on September 3
2001 – Andy Hillenburg on August 29
2000 – Joey Saldana on September 9

Which Schedule Would You like to Add to Your Calendar