Back to Bloomington

011714 Bloomington Announce
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series Adds Steve Kinser’s Hometown Bloomington Speedway to His “Salute to the King” Season

CONCORD, N.C. – Jan. 17, 2014 – It’s only fitting that during Steve Kinser’s “Salute to the King” season on the World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series circuit there will be an event at his hometown Bloomington (Ind.) Speedway.

Indy Race Parts will present the World of Outlaws STP Sprint Cars at Bloomington on Friday, Sept. 26, in an event that will give Kinser’s hometown fans their last chance to see him race for his 21st World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series championship.

Kinser won the inaugural World of Outlaws event at the quarter-mile dirt oval on Aug. 18, 1978, but that was just the beginning for King of the Outlaws. He went on to win another seven times at Bloomington, which has been host to 25 World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series events.

The race will be the series’ fifth trip of the season to the Hoosier State, a hot bed for short-track, open-wheel racing. The series also will race in Indiana May 10 at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, May 26 at Lawrenceburg Speedway, June 4 at Kokomo Speedway and Sept. 17 at Terre Haute Action Track. Tim Kaeding won at Tri-State and Kokomo last season while Donny Schatz took the win at Lawrenceburg. The Outlaws are returning to Terre Haute for the first time since Joey Saldana won there in 2006.

The Outlaws last raced at Bloomington on Aug. 3, 2012, when Lucas Wolfe earned his first series victory. Steve Kinser’s eight World of Outlaws wins at Bloomington are the most in series history, while Sammy Swindell’s five wins are second-most.

Tickets are on sale beginning today by clicking or calling 877-395-8606.

For information on Indy Racing Parts, click For more on Bloomington Speedway, click, and for more on the World of Outlaws, click, follow the series on Twitter @WorldofOutlaws or find us on Facebook at

Previous World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series Feature Event Winners at Bloomington Speedway:

2012 – Lucas Wolfe on Aug. 3; 2011 – Donny Schatz on Aug. 5; 1999 – Sammy Swindell on May 19, Sammy Swindell on May 19; 1998 – Steve Kinser on October 8; 1997 – Dave Blaney on June 13; 1996– Stevie Smith on June 14; 1995 – Danny Lasoski on April 21; 1994 – Sammy Swindell on April 15; 1993 – Steve Kinser on April 23; 1992 – Stevie Smith on April 17; 1991 – Steve Kinser on May 1; 1990 – Joe Gaerte on April 25; 1989 – Doug Wolfgang on April 7, Doug Wolfgang on May 13; 1988 – Sammy Swindell on April 8, Steve Kinser on August 30; 1987 – Bobby Allen on April 29, Steve Kinser on September 26; 1986 – Bobby Davis, Jr., on April 18; 1984 – Steve Kinser on May 18; 1983 – Steve Kinser on May 11, Sammy Swindell on August 19; 1979 – Rick Ferkel on May 18; 1978 – Steve Kinser on August 18.

The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including: American Racing Custom Wheels (Official Custom Wheel), Armor All (Official Car Care Products), STP (Official Fuel Treatment), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Tire), KMC (Official Custom Truck Wheel), University of Northwestern Ohio, VP Racing Fuels (Official Racing Fuel), Vicci (Official Apparel); in addition to contingency sponsors, including: Bruce High Performance Transporters, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, JE Pistons, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, KSE Racing Products, MSD Ignitions, Penske Shocks and Superflow Dynos; along with manufacturer sponsors, including: ButlerBuilt, Fuel Safe, Intercomp, J&J Auto Racing, Jake’s Carts, Racing Electronics, S&S Volvo, TNT Rescue and Winters Performance.

Related Posts

Which Schedule Would You like to Add to Your Calendar