Close this search box.

21st annual Late Model National Open at Selinsgrove Kicks off Sept. 21


The World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series gets set to make its ninth-ever appearance at the Selinsgrove Speedway next Saturday, Sept. 21 for the 21st annual Late Model National Open presented by Jeff’s Autobody & Recycling Center.

Chris Madden took home his first National Open title last year and his eighth and final World of Outlaws win of the season, propelling him to a third-place finish in the overall points standings. 2018 points runner-up Brandon Sheppard was hot on Madden’s tail in the first half of the race before engine issues struck him just before halfway, ultimately contributing to the points deficit he was unable to overcome at season’s end.

This year, Sheppard and the Rocket1 Racing team are in a much different position, ruling the points standings by 254 markers over second place and topping the win column with a total of 18. Should “The Rocket Shepp” visit Selinsgrove Victory Lane for the first time in his career and 19th time overall in 2019, he will break the World of Outlaws record for most wins in a single season – one that was set at 18 in 2016 by his predecessor aboard the Rocket Chassis house car, four-time Series Champion Josh Richards, and tied by Sheppard himself in 2017.

2017 also marked 12-time Selinsgrove Track Champion Jeff Rine’s first career Morton Buildings Feature win and his fifth National Open victory. Rine also took the National Open checkers in 2005, 2006, 2008 and 2009.

Darrell Lanigan, of Union, KY, won three straight National Opens from 2013-2015, while Batesville, Arkansas’ Billy Moyer Jr. claimed a win in 2016.

Chris Shuey of Orefield, PA, won the inaugural Late Model Open in 1999 followed by a win in 2001. Nick Dickson of Lewistown, PA, is the only other repeat winner with victories in 2007 and 2012.

Other past winners of the Late Model Open include Kenny Pettyjohn of Millsboro, DE (2000); Dale Kerstetter of Liverpool, PA (2002); Jeff Smith of Blain, PA (2003); Scott Haus of Hamburg, PA (2004); Dan Stone of Thompson, PA (2010); and Rick Eckert of York, PA (2011).

Coleby Frye bagged a sixth-place finish in last year’s National Open and currently leads Super Late Model points standings at Selinsgrove by 70 points over Bryan Bernheisel. Both are anticipated entries of this year’s National Open in addition to Rine, Eckert, Stone, Mason Zeigler, Greg Satterlee, Jason Covert, Andy Haus, Mike Lupfer, Kyle Lear and Dylan Yoder.

Limited Late Models will join the Outlaws on the card next Saturday night, scheduled for a 7 p.m. start time.

Tickets for the 21st annual Late Model National Open presented by Jeff’s Autobody & Recycling Center, hosted by Selinsgrove Speedway and the World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series will be on sale at the track on race day – $30 for adults, $15 for students ages 12-17 and kids 11 and under are FREE.

As always, fans can also watch every lap of World of Outlaws action live on with a Late Model Fast Pass subscription, only $39 per month.

Which Schedule Would You like to Print?


Which Schedule Would You like to Add to Your Calendar