Close this search box.

ON THIS DAY: Richards & Bloomquist Score World of Outlaws Wins


Scott Bloomquist and Josh Richards, two of the biggest winners in World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series history, were the victors on this day, May 15, with trips to Iowa and Pennsylvania in store.

May 15, 2004 – Farley Speedway (Farley, Iowa)

It was 16 years ago today when the original “Dirty Dozen” rolled into Farley, Iowa for the World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series debut at Farley Speedway with 39 cars in attendance. Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., the eventual 2004 series champion, racked up his second of nine wins on the season that night in the “Palace Ballroom 50.” Trailing Bloomquist to the line that night in Iowa was Darren Miller in second, Chub Frank in third, Brian Birkhofer in fourth, and Steve Francis in fifth.

Feature Results (50 Laps): 1. Scott Bloomquist; 2. Darren Miller; 3. Chub Frank; 4. Brian Birkhofer; 5. Steve Francis; 6. Rick Eckert; 7. Dale McDowell; 8. Mike Balzano; 9. John Blankenship; 10. Clint Smith; 11. Tim McCreadie; 12. Dan Schlieper; 13. Darrell Lanigan; 14. Curt Martin; 15. Steve Boley; 16. Bart Hartman; 17. Denny Eckrich; 18. Shannon Babb; 19. Steve Ihm; 20. Billy Moyer; 21. Rick Aukland; 22. Scott James; 23. Dave Eckrich; 24. Jeff Bair.

Bloomquist’s win at Farley Speedway on 5/15/04 was the third of his 32 career World of Outlaws victories.

May 15, 2010 – Hagerstown Speedway (Hagerstown, Md.)

Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.V. capped off a near perfect weekend sweep ten years ago when he topped the “Conococheague 50” at Maryland’s Hagerstown Speedway. For the four-time World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model champion, it was his 23rd of 78 career wins with the series.


“The Rocket Man” led 49 of 50 laps that night, only succumbing on lap 18 to Steve Francis’ pass for the lead, but he quickly recovered to reassume command and drove off for a dominating win at the half-mile oval. Darrell Lanigan, Steve Francis, Jason Covert and Nick Dickson completed the top five.

Feature Results (50 Laps): 1. Josh Richards [2]; 2. Darrell Lanigan [13]; 3. Steve Francis [1]; 4. Jason Covert [11]; 5. Nick Dickson [7]; 6. Tim Fuller [19]; 7. Brady Smith [10]; 8. J.T. Spence [14]; 9. Austin Hubbard [9]; 10. Vic Coffey [22]; 11. Chub Frank [17]; 12. Frankie Plessinger [25]; 13. Clint Smith [18]; 14. Dan Stone [21]; 15. Brent Robinson [20]; 16. Jill George [24]; 17. Rick Eckert [3]; 18. D.J. Myers [4]; 19. Russell King [23]; 20. Shane Clanton [16]; 21. Jamie Lathroum [6]; 22. Gary Stuhler [15]; Jeremy Miller [12]; 23. Tim McCreadie [8]; 24. Marvin Winters [5].
Lap Leader(s): Richards 1-17; Francis 18; Richards 19-50.

Which Schedule Would You like to Print?


Which Schedule Would You like to Add to Your Calendar