Clanton Claims First Championship

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

Shane Clanton Claims First World of Outlaws Late Model Series Championship

Brandon Overton named the 2015 Rookie of the Year presented by ButlerBuilt

CONCORD, N.C. – Nov. 12, 2015 – An emotional Shane Clanton stood before his friends, family and fellow competitors on Monday afternoon to receive his first World of Outlaws Late Model Series Championship at the annual ‘Night of Champions’ banquet.

Clanton and his Weldbank Energy Racing team were a force through 2015, picking up 10 series wins, including a sweep of DIRTcar Nationals in February and the coveted ‘Big Gator,’ 34 top-five finishes and 37 top-10 finishes. With the $100,000 championship check, Clanton earned $322,320 during the 2015 series season.

“I know for a long time I’ve been sitting at one of them tables,” Clanton said. “Not the first two like Josh (Richards) said. Those have been occupied by Darrell (Lanigan), Josh and (Rick) Eckert for the last seven years, I think. It’s been tough. Brandon (Overton) and (Jordan) Yaggy, I’ve been doing this for a long time, I was back there where you are for the first two years I did this deal. Just keep your head down and work hard and you’ll prevail.

“It’s been a journey. A lot of people have helped me through my career and I never had enough money to do this on my own. Just hard work. I had some good car owners back in the past.”

Clanton thanked his family and crew members Brock Wise and Joe Armistead Jr. for their support.

“It’s a real special week for us. My dad, he’s not here but I know he’s looking down,” Clanton said. “Next Saturday he’s getting inducted into the Hall of Fame in Georgia and that means a lot. This week has been emotional for sure and I know he’s looking down and smiling at everything we’re doing. It means a lot to my family, the next coming week. I just love doing what I’m doing and he put this in me to do what I’m doing and it’s very special.”

Clanton also received the VP Racing Fuels Award.

Clanton’s crew chief Brock Wise was the 2015 Crew Chief of the Year award recipient.  

In addition to his 10th place position in the championship points standings, Brandon Overton was named the 2015 Rookie of the Year presented by ButlerBuilt and received a $10,000 bonus. He congratulated his fellow rookie of the year contender Jordan Yaggy.

“(Jordan) deserves to win this thing as much as I do,” Overton said. “He and his family are probably the nicest people I’ve ever met. I’m proud of finishing 10th and this rookie deal but more than that, this thing is tough. I really didn’t know what I was getting into and, like I said, it’s just a struggle to keep going. Last night when I took that checkered flag at Charlotte, I didn’t win a race and all, but it made me feel so good that I stuck it out through all the bad. I finished it out and I won the rookie. I’ve got to thank everyone else who helps me.”

Overton also received the Raye Vest Memorial Pill Draw Award for the best average pill draw of the season. The award came with a $500 bonus.

Josh Richards, a three-time series champion who finished second in the points standings this season, received the award for the worst average pill draw and a $500 bonus.

Matt Curl and Gunner Sullivan, promoters of Fairbury (Ill.) American Legion Speedway, were honored as the 2015 World of Outlaws Late Model Promoters of the Year.

Additional awards were presented to Clements Racing Engines as the Engine Builder of the Year, Capital Race Cars as the Chassis Builder of the Year and Chase Junghans as the Hard Charger.

2015 World of Outlaws Late Model Series Point Fund Awards

1. Shane Clanton – $100,000
2. Josh Richards – $60,000
3. Chub Frank – $40,000
4. Rick Eckert – $35,000
5. Morgan Bagley – $30,000
6. Tim McCreadie – $23,500
7. Chase Junghans – $22,500
8. Frank Heckenast Jr. – $23,000
9. Eric Wells – $21,000
10. Brandon Overton – $20,000 plus $10,000 Rookie of the Year bonus

Final World of Outlaws Late Model Series Championship Standings

1. Shane Clanton 5,736
2. Josh Richards 5,694 (-174)
3. Chub Frank 5,482 (-386)
4. Rick Eckert 5,396 (-472)
5. Morgan Bagley 5,296 (-572)
6. Tim McCreadie 5,256 (-612)
7. Chase Junghans 5,228 (-640)
8. Frank Heckenast Jr. 5,182 (-686)
9. Eric Wells 5,134 (-734)
10. Brandon Overton 4,854 (-1,014)
11. Boom Briggs 4,782 (-1,086)
12. Darrell Lanigan 4,722 (-1,146)

The World of Outlaws Late Model Series is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Lincoln Welder (Official Welder), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel), (Hard Charger Award) and McCarthy’s One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning (Raye Vest Memorial Pill Draw Award); in addition to contingency sponsors: Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Mobil 1, MSD, Ohlins Shocks, QA1, QuarterMaster, Superflow Dynos and Wrisco Aluminum; along with manufacturer sponsors Capital Race Cars, Club 29 Chassis, Integra Shocks, Impact Racing Products, Intercomp, Racing Electronics, Rocket Chassis, and TNT Rescue.

Related Posts

Which Schedule Would You like to Add to Your Calendar